As My Hair Turned Gray

I retired early. Age: 47. So it took a while before I turned senior. I am now 70, very senior, retired, but still active. Not with work or any obligations, but actively engaged with life. It’s a choice. Not exactly the most ideal life but happily fulfilled that I celebrate life the way I do. And surrounded by family and friends who matter. True as can be. As my hair turned gray, I relish all the memories created over the last 2 decades of retirement. I count my blessings. Hopefully the years ahead will bless me with good health, a sustained capacity for joy and harmony.

I did plan for an early retirement. But you’d never know that if you met me while I was busy with my career. I poured all my heart in my work then and hardly wasted time. Then as now, I am still averse to wasting time. In my book, TIME is the most precious commodity. You waste it, you forever lose it. There is no way to rewrite your past. So I value time. But that doesn’t mean I cannot use time to relax my mind, enjoy and savor doing nothing. Being lazy and staying still “to appreciate life passing by” are not the same. Il dolce far niente. Sweetness of doing nothing. Being mindful OF OUR BEING. It’s like praying by being silent. Living by being still. Much like shutting your mind off many distractions. It’s sweet. It’s not being lazy. It’s delighting in WHAT IS.

Come, let’s celebrate LIFE. 💕

About lifeisacelebration

Retired early, but still active. Very involved in celebrating life! I love traveling because I always come back with less cobwebs in my mind. It is as if I empty my mind of all clutter upon departure, and fill it with many happy memories upon arrival. I also like the idea that life is so focused on the present, and my senses are all playing to listen, feel , see, smell and taste everything novel or not so new. The fact that I only have to choose from a limited wardrobe, or use the same pair of shoes throughout my holiday , or work and survive on a single budget make life so much simpler. Sure, you sometimes get a raw deal in a few trips, or feel hassled by flight delays and cancellations, but the joys and simplicity of the present far outweigh the negatives. Oh, btw, I always end up gaining more friends after each trip. Many I kept......
This entry was posted in Lifestyle and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment