Good Enough To Share

When I first landed a job, I’ve already decided how to spend my first pay check. I treated my parents to dinner and got myself a set of matching luggage. I guess early on, I knew what I wanted. Food and Travel. With each, my family is top of mind. 




With the subsequent pay checks, I resolved to support myself through graduate school. Not much chance to travel but I made sure my study groups share my passion for food. That somehow worked well. By the time I finished graduate school, I’ve saved enough to buy a car. And when I got a promotion and chunky raise, I made my first investment in real estate and upgraded my car. There wasn’t much more. I was happy with what I had. The company perks provided the next few items I needed — a better car, a representation allowance, some travels and a few luxuries. I was happy and content. 




I didn’t dream of a bigger house. I still live in the same condominium building that has seen better years. I haven’t bought a new car with my own money since I retired more than 2 decades ago. And I shop only to buy food, books and gifts. I still find joy in watching movies/concerts and dining alone. I feel excited even when I’m lost because it presents an adventure for me. I only feel miserable when I or my loved ones feel sick and helpless. 


“Comparison is a thief of joy.” I fully subscribe to this. Why compare when it can rob you of your moment’s happiness? When I pray, I ask God to give me friends who’d share with me the stuff they enjoy but which I may not have. Likewise, I pray He gives me the means to share as much as I have with others. Friends, who like me, know when it’s enough. And feel happy and cheerful about sharing. 

About lifeisacelebration

Retired early, but still active. Very involved in celebrating life! I love traveling because I always come back with less cobwebs in my mind. It is as if I empty my mind of all clutter upon departure, and fill it with many happy memories upon arrival. I also like the idea that life is so focused on the present, and my senses are all playing to listen, feel , see, smell and taste everything novel or not so new. The fact that I only have to choose from a limited wardrobe, or use the same pair of shoes throughout my holiday , or work and survive on a single budget make life so much simpler. Sure, you sometimes get a raw deal in a few trips, or feel hassled by flight delays and cancellations, but the joys and simplicity of the present far outweigh the negatives. Oh, btw, I always end up gaining more friends after each trip. Many I kept......
This entry was posted in Lifestyle, Musings and Ramblings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Good Enough To Share

  1. Beth says:

    Love this

Leave a comment