Last Night in Odaiba (Tokyo)

We couldn’t figure out going to this man-made island in the middle of Tokyo Bay. An artificial island? Oh yeah. Give it to the Japanese to come up with such an island of neon lights, animé monuments and even a Statue of Liberty overlooking Rainbow Bridge! Last time we tried going, we fell asleep on the train and found ourselves in Yokohama. I kid you not. Thank God, my niece’s friend Belle took time to bring us here. 




We can only imagine how the Rainbow Bridge and the rest of the island look during the day. But we’re glad we visited at night, with all the illuminations. Those looking for an onsen experience can find it here. But if you’re visiting just for dinner and a stroll, that’s fine too. 






As Belle said, it’s a dating place. Or it could also be a fine place for long altercations, errr ….. discussions. The boardwalk and the sea breeze should clear out those nega-thoughts.





Diver City? Aqua City? For sure, there’s much to explore here. Many young families with strollers came a-visiting and there were those who looked like they’re having a convention in one of the big hotels here. I just hope their elevators are working. I couldn’t dismiss this thought after seeing those massive stairs shown in the photo above. 😬




About lifeisacelebration

Retired early, but still active. Very involved in celebrating life! I love traveling because I always come back with less cobwebs in my mind. It is as if I empty my mind of all clutter upon departure, and fill it with many happy memories upon arrival. I also like the idea that life is so focused on the present, and my senses are all playing to listen, feel , see, smell and taste everything novel or not so new. The fact that I only have to choose from a limited wardrobe, or use the same pair of shoes throughout my holiday , or work and survive on a single budget make life so much simpler. Sure, you sometimes get a raw deal in a few trips, or feel hassled by flight delays and cancellations, but the joys and simplicity of the present far outweigh the negatives. Oh, btw, I always end up gaining more friends after each trip. Many I kept......
This entry was posted in Asia, Family Travel, Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Last Night in Odaiba (Tokyo)

  1. Pingback: Back So Soon (Japan) | lifeisacelebration

Leave a Reply

