Snoopy Museum in Tokyo

In my pre-Animé and pre-Pixar generation, there will always be a Charlie Brown, a Sally, a Lucy, a Linus, and the human-like dog Snoopy. We grew up grabbing the newspapers ahead of our parents to read the “Peanuts” comic strip by Charles Schulz. Through the years, the cartoon drawings grew simpler and more rounded, without losing its appeal. Schulz’ characters shared likeness with people in our family, our neighborhood and society in general. Forever feeling insecure and childish with his blanket, “Linus” represented all the people I know who lacked self-confidence. Brats were the Lucies of the world and who doesn’t remember the kind, dog-loving, round-headed Charlie Brown?




Only 3 months before, I stayed in the same Roppongi area with my “elves”. If they’re reading this now, they’d likely feel bad I didn’t take them here. Opened only last May 2016, the Snoopy Museum is dedicated entirely to Charlie Brown’s dog named “Snoopy”. But he’s the kind of dog who grew to assume human qualities in Schulz’ comic strip. From aviator to lawyer to different kinds of animals, Snoopy is NOT your ordinary loyal pet. He even learned to stand on 2 legs, and typified every human’s dilemma and identity crisis. “It’s a dog’s life” is his daily rant. 





Soon after entering this Museum,  I found this ingenious representation of Charlie Brown. It was made of comic strips aligned in a way that an image is created as one steps back. See for yourself. 




https://youtu.be/fXsCnlXrUOc


Unfortunately, photography wasn’t allowed inside. But I can tell you that the Museum showcases the evolution of Snoopy in the Peanuts comic strip. Charles Schulz’ dog “Spike” must have been his inspiration. It is claimed that he got his dog at age 13 and even sent a letter to Ripley’s Believe it or Not about a dog that eats thumb tacks. A not so ordinary dog! It is also claimed that Chuck was similar to Schulz in many ways, especially in regard to his pessimism. I wonder where he drew his inspiration for Linus, Sally and Lucy. And oh yes, don’t forget Woodstock!




About lifeisacelebration

Retired early, but still active. Very involved in celebrating life! I love traveling because I always come back with less cobwebs in my mind. It is as if I empty my mind of all clutter upon departure, and fill it with many happy memories upon arrival. I also like the idea that life is so focused on the present, and my senses are all playing to listen, feel , see, smell and taste everything novel or not so new. The fact that I only have to choose from a limited wardrobe, or use the same pair of shoes throughout my holiday , or work and survive on a single budget make life so much simpler. Sure, you sometimes get a raw deal in a few trips, or feel hassled by flight delays and cancellations, but the joys and simplicity of the present far outweigh the negatives. Oh, btw, I always end up gaining more friends after each trip. Many I kept......
This entry was posted in Asia, Family Travel, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Snoopy Museum in Tokyo

  1. Pingback: Back So Soon (Japan) | lifeisacelebration

  2. Wow gorgeous photography. I never knew there was such a museum!

Leave a Reply

