Bushwalking Around Lake Parramatta

Nestled away west of the city is a man-made reservoir in Parramatta, New South Wales. Lake Parramatta Reserve offers good bushwalking trails around it. Short but challenging. I’d say it’s a great place to spend time with family and friends, or even alone. Short enough not to lose the kids’ interest and enthusiasm. Challenging enough to rev up your appetite to stop for a flat white and turkey or burger sandwich after. 





You can even bring your lunch here and claim a spot in one of those humongous boulders, nibbling while enjoying a great view away from city noise and traffic. There are playgrounds and picnic grounds too but I bet the kids would rather hop from stone to stone crossing a creek. I was with a friend I rarely see because we live oceans apart, but we stopped from time to time chatting the morning away while catching our breath. 





Photos don’t do justice because you don’t smell the forest, hear the crunch of the fallen leaves as you walk and step on them, listen to the soothing sound of the creek, feel the moist rocks. The video I took attempts to capture all that but naaaahh, it doesn’t. We had a sunny spell in this OZ winter. I even shed my light jacket as climbing some rocks made me work up a sweat as I huffed and puffed. Lovely day. 





I can imagine how even lovelier this bush land would look in autumn. I’m not good with tree IDs but I spotted some gum and eucalyptus trees. The man-made lake doesn’t look man-made at all, and the moist soil reminds me of 3 days of rain we had last week. The moss gathered on some rock formations warns me to exercise caution when stepping on them stones. And the sheer quiet and stillness is only broken when we speak and the winds blow and ruffle the leaves. 





We walked for over 3 hours including gab stops. My friend and bushwalking guide tells me we veered away from the path twice but those never mattered as we easily found ourselves back on the trail. Met some groups, a few lone walkers, and moms with their kids. Some came with their dogs but I thought that may be difficult especially in a few narrow perilous paths near ravines and the water. That’s not to say though that those canines won’t enjoy this. 



If you’re in the area, check out Lake Parramatta Reserve. You don’t even have to go bushwalking. You may just as easily bring a thermo flask of tea or coffee, and a book to read. In summer, you can even dip your feet in the cool waters. Very relaxing. Soothing to our nerves. Good for the soul 👌

(Thanks, Lin, for bringing me here)



About lifeisacelebration

Retired early, but still active. Very involved in celebrating life! I love traveling because I always come back with less cobwebs in my mind. It is as if I empty my mind of all clutter upon departure, and fill it with many happy memories upon arrival. I also like the idea that life is so focused on the present, and my senses are all playing to listen, feel , see, smell and taste everything novel or not so new. The fact that I only have to choose from a limited wardrobe, or use the same pair of shoes throughout my holiday , or work and survive on a single budget make life so much simpler. Sure, you sometimes get a raw deal in a few trips, or feel hassled by flight delays and cancellations, but the joys and simplicity of the present far outweigh the negatives. Oh, btw, I always end up gaining more friends after each trip. Many I kept......
This entry was posted in Australia, Musings and Ramblings, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Bushwalking Around Lake Parramatta

  1. bertN says:

    Any fish in the man-made lake?

  2. Pingback: Another Winter In Australia (July-Aug 2016) | lifeisacelebration

Leave a Reply

