Flaneur On The Loose

My 3rd week in Sydney. Staying till near-end of this August. Spent time in the City, Katoomba, Berry,  Lake Conjola and soon Gold Coast. Not the best of time, winter and all, but family time is for all seasons. Right? Even had bonding moments with our pet dogs, one of which is now 14 y.o., growing blind and “puppy-ish” (the equivalent of childish). 


Cupitt’s Winery and Restaurant


Walking the dog in Lake Conjola


A Picnic Breakfast in Berry


I’ve taken time to meet with friends I haven’t seen for a while,  visit museums and galleries, sit through a concert, chill at a rooftop cocktail lounge by myself and clock 72,076 steps in a week to meet a Fitbit challenge. All burned calories swiftly replaced with road stops for donuts, pies and shakes 😜 With a couple of nieces, I’ve even gone house-hunting in Katoomba and Casula as we now wait to close the deals 🙏🏻 But the last 3 days, it’s been raining and I dare not even step out of the house. Instead, this flaneur is busy playing indoor games with 2 young boys, in between lethargic episodes of reading and watching home movies. 


Australian Art Gallery


This famous donut stall in Berry is owned by a Filipino


Trapped Inside Josh’ Room



One of my nieces wanted to take me to Kiama. A friend invited me to a weekend in Port Stephens. We’re even thinking of heading back to Cupitt’s Winery & Restaurant in Ulladulla where we had a lovely time.  But no, I’d likely chill and simply watch my sister baking in the kitchen while I plan and arrange our Gold Coast holiday. Idle much? Maybe. But it’s a luxury to spend these “idle moments”, unmindful of time, free from all anxieties, enjoying cup after cup of good homemade coffee. 

So yes. Flaneur on the loose may not exactly be apt. Rather, Flaneur Under House Arrest is more like it. 😀 


Pitching “tent” in the boys’ room.


Ryll’s Brandnew Coffee Machine


Chef Russell & His Dogs in Cupitt’s. Phote Credit: R. Chinn’s FB


This is ze life.


About lifeisacelebration

Retired early, but still active. Very involved in celebrating life! I love traveling because I always come back with less cobwebs in my mind. It is as if I empty my mind of all clutter upon departure, and fill it with many happy memories upon arrival. I also like the idea that life is so focused on the present, and my senses are all playing to listen, feel , see, smell and taste everything novel or not so new. The fact that I only have to choose from a limited wardrobe, or use the same pair of shoes throughout my holiday , or work and survive on a single budget make life so much simpler. Sure, you sometimes get a raw deal in a few trips, or feel hassled by flight delays and cancellations, but the joys and simplicity of the present far outweigh the negatives. Oh, btw, I always end up gaining more friends after each trip. Many I kept......
This entry was posted in Australia, Lifestyle, Musings and Ramblings, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Flaneur On The Loose

  1. Pingback: Another Winter In Australia (July-Aug 2016) | lifeisacelebration

Leave a Reply

