Another Weekend In Lake Conjola 

Last time we were here, my 2 teen-age elves from Manila were with us. Their younger cousins are now 2 years older, the lake house porch has been extended for better views of the lake while holding one’s wine glass, the wall between kitchen and living room has been knocked down and the apple and mulberry trees at the back of the house are taller. It was also way colder this weekend we spent in Lake Conjola. 






We should talk to the neighbors about their tree blocking our view from the porch. Not now — we’re on holiday. Maybe next time. As for the mulberry tree at the back, let’s just say I’m not exactly comfortable watching them climb and finding their spots on the higher branches. To think I used to do that when I was their age! 






The lake looks as placid and glasslike as I remember. At low temps of 10-14C though, I’d fight for every shred of fabric on my nearly-frozen limbs. But the kids had other ideas. The park grounds nearer the lake house got their attention off their iPads as they tried the monkey bars, slide and swing. In nearby Mollymook Park, the eldest kid went swinging even higher. Between these parks, badminton and the backyard tree, they managed to amuse themselves. But for one kid who cried his way through some homework. 😭






Thanks for some sunny spells, we took the chance to drop in at Conjola Park where some 30 or more kangaroos were found waiting to be fed. One even had a Joey in her pouch! Their eagerness (or friendliness) overwhelmed me. We’ve visited this park before but the last time, we only spotted 2 Roos. Looks like they were having a party here when we arrived. Lucky, lucky day. 😀




(Previous blog on same holiday: A Weekend in Lake Conjola  was published in 2014)

About lifeisacelebration

Retired early, but still active. Very involved in celebrating life! I love traveling because I always come back with less cobwebs in my mind. It is as if I empty my mind of all clutter upon departure, and fill it with many happy memories upon arrival. I also like the idea that life is so focused on the present, and my senses are all playing to listen, feel , see, smell and taste everything novel or not so new. The fact that I only have to choose from a limited wardrobe, or use the same pair of shoes throughout my holiday , or work and survive on a single budget make life so much simpler. Sure, you sometimes get a raw deal in a few trips, or feel hassled by flight delays and cancellations, but the joys and simplicity of the present far outweigh the negatives. Oh, btw, I always end up gaining more friends after each trip. Many I kept......
This entry was posted in Australia, Musings and Ramblings, Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Another Weekend In Lake Conjola 

  1. Pingback: Another Winter In Australia (July-Aug 2016) | lifeisacelebration

Leave a Reply

