Home in Katoomba

I  have written more than once about Katoomba. It was my first day trip out of Sydney many years ago. Katoomba’s claim to fame is being the chief town in the Blue Mountains area. Many tourists make this day trip to view the natural attractions and rock formations here, particularly the Three Sisters. If you’re in luck, the Three Sisters can be viewed clearly. Otherwise, it hides behind a thick fog and a white out prevents you from enjoying this spectacular view. But the town of Katoomba fascinates me. It is a haven for many artists who likely draw much inspiration from the laid back vibe of the town, the many centuries-old buildings and houses, and the absence of food chain like McDonald’s, KFC, etc in the area. 





The last time I was here, I enjoyed a cuppa in what’s claimed to be the oldest coffee shop in the country. If you’re in the area, you’d also enjoy checking out the many quaint shops, restaurants and bookstores here. Who needs Starbucks when you can enjoy far better coffee while browsing through the shop’s trinkets and curio stuff? 






I’ve always felt at home here. But not more so than now when I joined my niece house-hunting here. She found one. A century-old all white cottage with a more modern “granny flat” extension. May need a lot of restoration work but even as is, you’d love it. Four artists have lived here. And it shows. 




The backyard has a cubby house, swing and slide. Lots of space that can easily accommodate as many as 4 camper vans. Mushrooms sprouting everywhere. Anyone with a green thumb can easily convert this into a charming flower garden. Hopefully, my next visit here means a week’s stay in this lovely cottage and lotsa time visiting the many art galleries and curio shops here. Yes, that would be nice😀👍😘




About lifeisacelebration

Retired early, but still active. Very involved in celebrating life! I love traveling because I always come back with less cobwebs in my mind. It is as if I empty my mind of all clutter upon departure, and fill it with many happy memories upon arrival. I also like the idea that life is so focused on the present, and my senses are all playing to listen, feel , see, smell and taste everything novel or not so new. The fact that I only have to choose from a limited wardrobe, or use the same pair of shoes throughout my holiday , or work and survive on a single budget make life so much simpler. Sure, you sometimes get a raw deal in a few trips, or feel hassled by flight delays and cancellations, but the joys and simplicity of the present far outweigh the negatives. Oh, btw, I always end up gaining more friends after each trip. Many I kept......
This entry was posted in Australia, Musings and Ramblings, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Home in Katoomba

  1. Pingback: Another Winter In Australia (July-Aug 2016) | lifeisacelebration

Leave a Reply

