Touchdown @The Grounds of Alexandria (Sydney)

It was a cold late morning when I arrived in Sydney. From the airport, we drove to The Grounds of Alexandria and found the place teeming with young people and couples out with babies in strollers. It was a school holiday. Car parks full. We had lunch in another place instead, but decided dessert and coffee should be here. So we trooped back after lunch. 






Oh, I’m so glad we went back. This place has good eats and coffee and the trellis, fountain, animal farm, even the toilets all add to the charm. There were stalls selling fruits, bread, potted herbs, Nutella and cinnamon doughnuts, flower shops, an old automobile for photo opps — so much that draw your interest. Looking left, right or dead center, every nook and cranny lovingly, thoughtfully and artfully adorned.





It’s no wonder The Grounds is packed. But the real stars of the show are the resident pig Kevin Bacon and resident sheep Bradley. These 2 animals steal the show as most children won’t leave without saying hello to them. So well loved and so missed when these 2 farm cuties were STOLEN. Yes, stolen. Farm gates open, no Kevin Bacon and Bradley inside the pen. Who could have stolen them? This was back in 2013. Thankfully these 2 besties were found in Victoria (yes, all the way in Melbourne) and brought back to The Grounds of Alexandria. They have since grown extra-large and now have another bff — a farm goat. Perhaps to make sure this loud meh meh will make another steal more difficult. 


Kevin Bacon


The Farm Animals in The Grounds

Kevin still does his daily “walks” around the block, much like a pet owner would walk his dog. I bet he enjoys meeting passers-by esp kids during these routine strolls. The Grounds is like a novelty Mercato cum Barn plus plus. I enjoyed the doughnuts here and if I weren’t so full, I would have picked something from its interesting menu. Well, there’s always a next time. 





Thank you, Shelly, for bringing me here.  

The Grounds of Alexandria



About lifeisacelebration

Retired early, but still active. Very involved in celebrating life! I love traveling because I always come back with less cobwebs in my mind. It is as if I empty my mind of all clutter upon departure, and fill it with many happy memories upon arrival. I also like the idea that life is so focused on the present, and my senses are all playing to listen, feel , see, smell and taste everything novel or not so new. The fact that I only have to choose from a limited wardrobe, or use the same pair of shoes throughout my holiday , or work and survive on a single budget make life so much simpler. Sure, you sometimes get a raw deal in a few trips, or feel hassled by flight delays and cancellations, but the joys and simplicity of the present far outweigh the negatives. Oh, btw, I always end up gaining more friends after each trip. Many I kept......
This entry was posted in Australia, Lifestyle. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Touchdown @The Grounds of Alexandria (Sydney)

  1. Pingback: Another Winter In Australia (July-Aug 2016) | lifeisacelebration

Leave a Reply

