VF Sutri to Campagnano di Roma (28kms)

The Walking Notes say Day 3 is the longest walk at 28 kms. After yesterday’s ordeal, I have decided not to check my Fitbit pedometer anymore lest I lose heart. But one thing’s for sure. It will be wet and cold today. Worse, there would be steep uphill climbs. 😭




For good measure, I wore my thickest woolen socks. Don’t ask me, but I drew comfort in that. Moleskins on my feet, liner socks, then merino socks. That should take care of my feet. Except that it’s my right knee giving me a problem. I started wearing my knee support for compression, and errr…. confidence that I’d survive the climbs. Let me explain. I’m a good walker but climbs scare me. I never ever passed those breathing tests to check the condition of my lungs. I’m not a confident swimmer for the same reason. Years of nicotine consumption took their toll. So yes, it’s almost pretentious to care for my feet and knees when my waterloo is my lungs. But I also know the mind plays tricks. And confidence factors in in setting your drives, determination, willpower. Ergo, I fool myself into thinking it’s my feet, my legs, my knees that concern me. Yeah, call me crazy. But hey, it works for me. 


Photo Credit: Reg Rodrigo




The town of Monterosi is the halfway mark at 13kms from Sutri.  Ergo, another 15 kms to Campagnano di Roma. In the main square of Monterosi is the Baroque Chiesa de Santa Croce. Piazza Garibaldi is the town center where one hopes to find eating places. There were a few interesting ones. Most others were closed. Really, I never expected it would be a chore to find dining places in Italy. In Spain, I practically just run into one. And there was variety. In Italy, I must have reached my annual quota for pizzas. And no, I’m not a big fan of pizza slices on display. Want them freshly-baked and piping hot, yeah. 




Reaching Campagnano di Roma on Day 3 really stretched my limits. Those leg muscles worked really hard. And I honestly don’t know how I would have done without a walking stick. In the Walking Notes, any elevation is described as soft uphill walk. This time, it says CLIMB. I don’t know how long it took a few of us, but it was like forever. We paced ourselves every 12-15 steps and caught our breath. Oxygen stops. Yay, I truly felt my age as my lungs threatened to burst. Every kilo, every pound, every extra gram mattered in that climb. I huffed and I puffed, and struggled.




Tired, breathless, severely fatigued. But Campagnano di Roma rewards. We were too tired to stroll around town, but thankfully, our hotel is right along a busy pretty street with a nearby piazza. It’s a plus our hotel has a bar and a separate trattoria. A big minus that it has no lifts! Imagine us dragging our big bags to the 4th floor. 😭 




As we moved out the next morn, we walked out of the hotel into the pretty street bound for Isola Farnese. So quiet. Seemed like everyone else was still asleep, and the only sounds to be heard were our walking sticks hitting ground. Andiamo! 



Photo Credit: Rick Chavez

About lifeisacelebration

Retired early, but still active. Very involved in celebrating life! I love traveling because I always come back with less cobwebs in my mind. It is as if I empty my mind of all clutter upon departure, and fill it with many happy memories upon arrival. I also like the idea that life is so focused on the present, and my senses are all playing to listen, feel , see, smell and taste everything novel or not so new. The fact that I only have to choose from a limited wardrobe, or use the same pair of shoes throughout my holiday , or work and survive on a single budget make life so much simpler. Sure, you sometimes get a raw deal in a few trips, or feel hassled by flight delays and cancellations, but the joys and simplicity of the present far outweigh the negatives. Oh, btw, I always end up gaining more friends after each trip. Many I kept......
This entry was posted in Europe, Lifestyle, Musings and Ramblings, Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to VF Sutri to Campagnano di Roma (28kms)

  1. Pingback: An Italian Camino: Viterbo to Roma  | lifeisacelebration

Leave a Reply

