A Night Of Opera

We booked tickets online. I would have preferred a Verdi opera but having just done a day trip to Lucca, it will be a Puccini masterpiece. La Bohème for tonight in St. Mark’s Anglican Church across the River Arno. 




One only needs to imagine this 4-act opera played out since 1897. And still packing a good crowd. Saint Mark’s offered a very private and intimate venue for this Giacomo Puccini masterpiece. Mimi was performed by a relatively young actress whose beauty distracted me from her good performance as a pitiful character meeting a tragic end. Well, beauty distracts. Or maybe I wasn’t listening very well 😭




On the way back to our hotel, it was so pleasant to walk the quiet streets of Florence minus the noisy, self sticking tourists. We literally window-shopped along the shopping district dominated by Via Tournabouni and drooled over the signature brands. Cooler evenings and crowd-free promenades. How lovely! 




And so it was that we had sunny weather doing a day trip from Florence, a night at the opera and a pleasant leisurely walk along the otherwise busy streets of Florence before calling it a night. Buona Notte!




Weak internet connection. To be updated. 

About lifeisacelebration

Retired early, but still active. Very involved in celebrating life! I love traveling because I always come back with less cobwebs in my mind. It is as if I empty my mind of all clutter upon departure, and fill it with many happy memories upon arrival. I also like the idea that life is so focused on the present, and my senses are all playing to listen, feel , see, smell and taste everything novel or not so new. The fact that I only have to choose from a limited wardrobe, or use the same pair of shoes throughout my holiday , or work and survive on a single budget make life so much simpler. Sure, you sometimes get a raw deal in a few trips, or feel hassled by flight delays and cancellations, but the joys and simplicity of the present far outweigh the negatives. Oh, btw, I always end up gaining more friends after each trip. Many I kept......
This entry was posted in Europe, Lifestyle, Musings and Ramblings, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Night Of Opera

  1. Pingback: Pre- and Post-Camino Italian Holiday | lifeisacelebration

Leave a Reply

