Bad Girls, Banana Leaf & Two Bald Heads (Coron, Palawan)

Today is another island-hopping day in Coron, Palawan. Farther away, like an hour and a half’s boat ride away. The 3 beach destinations in our itinerary are a few minutes apart from each other: Malcapuya, Banana and Bulog Dos. The waves ruled the day we went, but the pristine waters and powdery sands more than made up for the bumpy ride. 


  

  

 

Malcapuya translates to BAD GIRLS. Don’t ask me why it’s named so. I love this island best. No crowds for now but maybe not for long. Boracay Regency bought the island so we’re lucky to be here before construction (and higher tolls) begin. We docked at the back part of the island. Not nice. Trash here and there. A 5 minute walk and we’re at the better, cleaner side where we promptly claimed a hut and ordered our buko or young coconuts. The hammocks were inviting and the water was cool even at noontime.


  

  
  


Next beach. Banana Island is so called because the island looks like a banana leaf from the air. This is more developed, complete with huts where we laid out our lunch, toilet facilities, hammocks and native beds. After lunch, we swam towards the area where the corals included some big clams. It was difficult though to wade through because the seabed is full of sharp stones that hurt my soles. I prefer the beach in Malcapuya. 


  

    
 


The last beach destination is the smallest beach island: Bulog Dos which means 2 bald heads. Again, ask me not why it’s called such. Great waters to swim in, plus there’s a sandbar which connects it to the 5* Two Seasons Hotel. If I own that posh resort hotel, I’d do whatever to buy Bulog Dos to claim the entire area for exclusive use of hotel guests. Just saying. Who knows? Negotiations may be underway to have those dotted lines finally bear signatures. For now though, we’re here to enjoy this tiny island. Ganda ng Pilipinas!


 

  
  

About lifeisacelebration

Retired early, but still active. Very involved in celebrating life! I love traveling because I always come back with less cobwebs in my mind. It is as if I empty my mind of all clutter upon departure, and fill it with many happy memories upon arrival. I also like the idea that life is so focused on the present, and my senses are all playing to listen, feel , see, smell and taste everything novel or not so new. The fact that I only have to choose from a limited wardrobe, or use the same pair of shoes throughout my holiday , or work and survive on a single budget make life so much simpler. Sure, you sometimes get a raw deal in a few trips, or feel hassled by flight delays and cancellations, but the joys and simplicity of the present far outweigh the negatives. Oh, btw, I always end up gaining more friends after each trip. Many I kept......
This entry was posted in Asia, Family Travel, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

