Hello, 2016!

What’s in store for 2016? Looking at the Calendar of Public Holidays, one is tempted to craft a Travel Itinerary to max out the vacation days. For me, it’s not relevant. I’m retired, remember? But such is not the case with the rest of my family and many of my friends. My travel buddies. And I’m sure you guys would love to design a holiday iti around these public holidays, right? 

   
I found myself reviewing my bucket list.  Crafted back in 2013, I am happy to tick off a few. India. Myanmar. Hanoi/Halong Bay. Scandinavia. Camino de Santiago de Compostela. 


  
I did have a chance to go to Finland but only as far as Helsinki. Lapland has to wait for another visit to view the Northern Lights (Aurora Borealis). I am disappointed I have not yet gone to see Macchu Picchu. It’s always in my Priority List but because my travel buddies seem to prefer other sites, it remains on my list. From all indications I may have to do this alone. Like I went solo on my Camino. 


I am not confident I can do South America this year. Instead, I’m bent on doing another Camino , this time from Viterbo to Rome. It’s the Holy Year and I don’t want to wait another 15-16 years for the next one. I was in Rome too back in 2000, the last Holy Year. Perhaps, I can firm up my travel plans while walking the last 100 kilometers of the Via Francigena. Bucket list or not, I’m going! 



  

About lifeisacelebration

Retired early, but still active. Very involved in celebrating life! I love traveling because I always come back with less cobwebs in my mind. It is as if I empty my mind of all clutter upon departure, and fill it with many happy memories upon arrival. I also like the idea that life is so focused on the present, and my senses are all playing to listen, feel , see, smell and taste everything novel or not so new. The fact that I only have to choose from a limited wardrobe, or use the same pair of shoes throughout my holiday , or work and survive on a single budget make life so much simpler. Sure, you sometimes get a raw deal in a few trips, or feel hassled by flight delays and cancellations, but the joys and simplicity of the present far outweigh the negatives. Oh, btw, I always end up gaining more friends after each trip. Many I kept......
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

