Adieu, Hotel Intercontinental Manila 😭

More than 50 years? I’m near panic, losing all those icons of my childhood, teenhood and young adult life. And now, we bid adieu to Hotel Intercontinental. Easily, Where Else and  Le Boulevardier come to mind. Many dates happened there. Disco fun and band music. I even remember a young Sunshine Cruz gyrating on stage as her dad and uncles played a mean danceable beat. Coffee and snacks in the Jeepney Bar where I discovered Crepe Samurai. 👍

Photo Credits to Pandy Aviado who posted this in Manila Nostalgia.


 


The time we paid our “last respects”, we stepped out to view the swimming pool area one last time. What would they do with those fully-grown trees shading cute-sy bahay kubo huts? Claiming a seat in Sol y Sombra, I was reminded of those oxygen breaks after some frenzied dancing at the basement disco. The pool area even witnessed a dear friend’s wedding back in the 80’s. Just a few of us in attendance, and would you believe no official photographer in sight? My friends wanted it simple, casual and candid despite the seriousness of the event. This is all pre-selfie period. And yes, I digress 😜


 


Gambrinus Bar is still there. I remember this as an “extension area” for lunch or dinners in ritzy Prince Albert. A prime rib meal almost always get you going for many more hours, so an “extension” is not completely unexpected. And where better to digest that superb meal than here? Any “unfinished business” is also likely resolved here. 


 



Till December 31. There’s a scramble to book luncheons and dinners here now. At Prince Albert, we saw many many diners of a certain age. Yes, Virginia. Like us, we were all paying our respect to this grand old dame which comprised nearly ALL of Ayala Center back when there were no Rustan’s, SM, Glorietta, Park Square and Greenbelt. Adieu, Hotel Intercon. Many debuts, weddings, anniversaries, parties were held there and we will sorely miss you! 


 
  

About lifeisacelebration

Retired early, but still active. Very involved in celebrating life! I love traveling because I always come back with less cobwebs in my mind. It is as if I empty my mind of all clutter upon departure, and fill it with many happy memories upon arrival. I also like the idea that life is so focused on the present, and my senses are all playing to listen, feel , see, smell and taste everything novel or not so new. The fact that I only have to choose from a limited wardrobe, or use the same pair of shoes throughout my holiday , or work and survive on a single budget make life so much simpler. Sure, you sometimes get a raw deal in a few trips, or feel hassled by flight delays and cancellations, but the joys and simplicity of the present far outweigh the negatives. Oh, btw, I always end up gaining more friends after each trip. Many I kept......
This entry was posted in Asia, Dining101, Musings and Ramblings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Adieu, Hotel Intercontinental Manila 😭

  1. Ellen Brady says:

    Yes, many great memories…I’ll remember the thick Filipino hot chocolate they serve ( special request) at the buffet breakfast in the Jeepney Cafe. And laying on my back in the pool looking at those grand trees!

Leave a Reply

