Sunrise, Sunset In Tina’s Ajos Crib

Tina turns 75 today. December 7.  And she’s in her beach house of a crib in Ajos, Catanauan, Quezon. The trip along SLEX, Star, Maharlika Highway took us 6 hours non-stop. And we have a full weekend here. Just them 3 boys, Tina and moí with her family and Carica staff. 


 




The beach house is a 2-storey affair fronting the beach which you can claim as your own the entire weekend. Well…. You share them with a few stray dogs but that’s about it. For some reason, I was sleeping earlier than usual and waking up before sunrise! Early morns are eerily quiet. The waters so tranquil and the sun peeking out to greet me every single day as I do my morning walks sans slippers. The feel of sand between my toes, a tad cool to the touch, “polishing” my soles never fails to rejuvenate moí 😄


https://www.facebook.com/Lifeisacelebration/videos/1069675309744037/


Because I slept in in my earlier visits to Tina’s Crib, i missed the glorious sunrise all mornings I was here. Not this time. Sunrise. Sunset. Every single chance I got. A few stray dogs gave me a scare as I walked alone. But the natural phenomenon distracted me from those canine threats. 


 

One of us joined the local boys on a fishing expedition. Home by 2 am, there was no telling which fish he caught. I’d indulge him, ask no questions and assume he won’t mind this post. 😄 As for the rest of us, we’re simply happy with the harvest, and waited for our sea-to-table meals. 


 

Photo Credit: Jessie Aquino


 

Photo Credit: Rick Chavez

 

Photo Credit: Rick Chavez

 

Such was our oink-oink, “buhaybabs” existence for the entire weekend. I slept much less than the boys but equally shared the hearty appetite. The freshest sea catch, the chunkiest barbecued pork, the backyard-raised 2-month old lechon, the “just-dug” clams and snails stewed in coconut cream, an assortment of fish you’d hardly find sold in your neighborhood market — blanched shrimps you can suck crazy, sapsap cooked in a variety of ways, tanigue slightly-salted and cooked slowly in woodfire, squids either cooked and served en su tinta, a la plancha or adobo with coconut milk. And the crabs! Steamed, or as crab omellette the next morn. Either way, they all made for many fantastic meals 😘

 

Photo Credits: Rick & Jessie


 


Life is good. Especially when you have friends who delight in your company and spoil you rotten with your favorite food. Farm-to-Table, or Sea-To-Table at its finest. Only here in Tina’s Crib. The glorious dawns, dusks and twilights are a bonus. As if Nature conspired with Tina to render a most unforgettable weekend to celebrate the bounty from the sea and 75 years of the good life! 


Happy birthday, Tins!  We wish you good health and a life filled with joy and harmony. May your treasured moments with family and friends include us 😄😘😜❤️💕🍷😋


 

About lifeisacelebration

Retired early, but still active. Very involved in celebrating life! I love traveling because I always come back with less cobwebs in my mind. It is as if I empty my mind of all clutter upon departure, and fill it with many happy memories upon arrival. I also like the idea that life is so focused on the present, and my senses are all playing to listen, feel , see, smell and taste everything novel or not so new. The fact that I only have to choose from a limited wardrobe, or use the same pair of shoes throughout my holiday , or work and survive on a single budget make life so much simpler. Sure, you sometimes get a raw deal in a few trips, or feel hassled by flight delays and cancellations, but the joys and simplicity of the present far outweigh the negatives. Oh, btw, I always end up gaining more friends after each trip. Many I kept......
This entry was posted in Asia, Dining101, Musings and Ramblings, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

