Doña Elvira In Plaza Sta. Cruz (Sevilla)

It’s in the song “Dos Cruces”, my friend says. The square in Barrio Santa Cruz here in Seville. And so the corner restaurant fronting the plaza bears its name: Restaurante Doña Elvira. It’s a sad song, by the way. A very sad love song. 


  

  
  

Thankfully, lunch here wasn’t a sad event. Under our foodie radar owing to a few bad reviews, we chanced upon it while moving around Barrio Santa Cruz.  With 12 of us, it’s a chore to find a long table to seat all 12 to share a “family meal”. We love sharing, you see. Para compartir, as they say. 

   
    

Reviews aside, we went in and had a fantastic lunch. We drooled at the sight of a carpaccio de langostinos, savoring every morsel of this starter. Soooo good. As were the next few dishes. Too bad we failed to snap photos of everything we ordered. But the other prawn dish — a prawn risotto — likewise set the bar higher for subsequent dishes. 


  

  

I forget what the fish and shrimp dish is called but trust me, everything we ate here was great. Not just good. And certainly not in conformity with the bad reviews this resto got on Trip Advisor. We particularly liked the veal cheeks we ordered. While we thought we were growing tired of meat dishes, this one was such tender goodness we truly enjoyed. And another highlight of this lunch was the fish (was it Dorado or Lubina?) baked in rock salt. Delish 😘

  
      
  

I forgot to take photos of the aceitunas or olives. So plump I had to ask for more. The salmorejo here is not outstanding but it won’t merit a bad review from me. It helps too that the waiters were all so hospitable. 


  

  
  

Great looking resto. Right smack around Plaza Doña Elvira in Barrio Santa Cruz. Great food and variety. Good service. Happy bellies all! 


  
  

About lifeisacelebration

Retired early, but still active. Very involved in celebrating life! I love traveling because I always come back with less cobwebs in my mind. It is as if I empty my mind of all clutter upon departure, and fill it with many happy memories upon arrival. I also like the idea that life is so focused on the present, and my senses are all playing to listen, feel , see, smell and taste everything novel or not so new. The fact that I only have to choose from a limited wardrobe, or use the same pair of shoes throughout my holiday , or work and survive on a single budget make life so much simpler. Sure, you sometimes get a raw deal in a few trips, or feel hassled by flight delays and cancellations, but the joys and simplicity of the present far outweigh the negatives. Oh, btw, I always end up gaining more friends after each trip. Many I kept......
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Doña Elvira In Plaza Sta. Cruz (Sevilla)

  1. Pingback: Food Coma In Spain | lifeisacelebration

Leave a Reply

