GAME OVER IN FINISTERRE Y MUXIA?

I wanted so much to stay on in Santiago de Compostela after my camino early May 2015. But I needed to join up with friends on a fancy Scandinavian cruise so I left a day after without exploring Santiago de Compostela, much less going on a day trip to either Finisterre or Muxia. 


  



It’s another 87 kilometers (54 miles) from Santiago. And you can’t go any further upon reaching this terminus. FINIS TERRE. End of the World. Fisterra to Galicians. The westernmost tip of Spain, they say. I didn’t miss it the 2nd time I visited Santiago de Compostela. And I’m sooo glad I went. The promontory looking out to the Atlantic Ocean is breathlessly beautiful. A fitting terminus where pilgrims can shed off their hiking boots, torn-up raincoats, and whatever else to burn — yes, burn — someplace here. 



  



From my readings, not too many peregrinos walk further from Santiago de Compostela. Rather, they bus from SdC to Finisterre and/or Muxia. I would love to do this walk, but I would plan to end it in Muxia instead. That is, walk from SdC to Fisterra then walk towards Muxia where I’d spend some days to indulge in hedonistic pleasures 😜





Both Fisterra and Muxia are lovely. But the latter reminds me of an “abandoned” resort town rather than a fishing village. I had my best value-for-money eats here, complete with a full view of the fishing port. Too bad I only had a day here 😔


  



After a delightful lunch in Muxia, we went to Costa da Morte, literally Coast of Death. The name is no joke as many ships have sunk here including the oil tanker Prestige back in 2002. The incident polluted the beach waters in France, Portugal and Spain. This is the only case where river waters end as waterfalls spilling into the Atlantic. Pretty dramatic! 


I’m telling you — just writing about this makes me want to pack my bags again. Surely, my Camino does not end here. I will most definitely walk another camino in my lifetime! 



   

For more blogs celebrating life, check out : 


http://marilil.wordpress.com/


http://www.travelblog.org/Bloggers/liliram/
Like me on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Lifeisacelebration

About lifeisacelebration

Retired early, but still active. Very involved in celebrating life! I love traveling because I always come back with less cobwebs in my mind. It is as if I empty my mind of all clutter upon departure, and fill it with many happy memories upon arrival. I also like the idea that life is so focused on the present, and my senses are all playing to listen, feel , see, smell and taste everything novel or not so new. The fact that I only have to choose from a limited wardrobe, or use the same pair of shoes throughout my holiday , or work and survive on a single budget make life so much simpler. Sure, you sometimes get a raw deal in a few trips, or feel hassled by flight delays and cancellations, but the joys and simplicity of the present far outweigh the negatives. Oh, btw, I always end up gaining more friends after each trip. Many I kept......
This entry was posted in Europe, Musings and Ramblings, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to GAME OVER IN FINISTERRE Y MUXIA?

  1. Pingback: REUNITING WITH FRIENDS IN SPAIN, LOURDES & PORTUGAL | lifeisacelebration

  2. Pingback: Underrated Sights in Spain | lifeisacelebration

Leave a Reply

