BE STILL. (Back in Lourdes, France)

The first time was in 2002. There was a long queue for the baths but this lady volunteer who looked like a novice nun picked me out of the long line as I stood there shaking uncontrollably in tears. I can never explain why I was picked out, warmly hugged, then brought to the front of the line.


  

 


Without comprehending the whole situation, I found myself visiting Lourdes the next 2 years (2003 & 2004), then again in 2006 with my niece.  That makes this my 5th pilgrimage, this time with friends. But like the first 3 visits, sans any hotel arrangements. Well, I never lost faith I’d find a room here in Lourdes.


  



For the first time though, I trained into Lourdes (from Bayonne, France). In earlier visits, either I flew or drove into this Marian pilgrimage site. Quite dramatic to enter Lourdes via train tracing River Gave and viewing a clear but fleeting image of the impressive Basilica. My friends were delighted! 


 


We found modest accommodations near the train station where we deposited our bags then rode the bus for a short ride to the grotto area.   Passing some interior streets and alleys, I lamented that Lourdes appears overly commercialized with its many souvenir shops, inns and cafes. 


  

 


As we’ve done all 5 ideal things to do in Lourdes ( Mass, Procession, Baths, Confession/Reconciliation, and Stations of the Cross), we found time to visit the former house of Saint Bernadette.  It’s a short walk from our hotel via a staircase down to a busy street leading all the way to the Basilica. 




The museum-house is now managed by St. Bernadette’s grandnephew. The 2€ admission earned us a ticket which is more like a medallion. Upstairs, a tiny store sold religious items like prayer books, religious statues, rosaries at prices even lower than what it would cost you in other stores near  the church grounds. Imagine that! It is like one is invited to this house to “feel” Bernadette and to pay for items in the store at cost. For those visiting Lourdes, I strongly suggest you visit this place and buy your souvenirs here. And yes, do all 5 activities and seize the chance to meditate, contemplate and reflect on life’s blessings. 


  

About lifeisacelebration

Retired early, but still active. Very involved in celebrating life! I love traveling because I always come back with less cobwebs in my mind. It is as if I empty my mind of all clutter upon departure, and fill it with many happy memories upon arrival. I also like the idea that life is so focused on the present, and my senses are all playing to listen, feel , see, smell and taste everything novel or not so new. The fact that I only have to choose from a limited wardrobe, or use the same pair of shoes throughout my holiday , or work and survive on a single budget make life so much simpler. Sure, you sometimes get a raw deal in a few trips, or feel hassled by flight delays and cancellations, but the joys and simplicity of the present far outweigh the negatives. Oh, btw, I always end up gaining more friends after each trip. Many I kept......
This entry was posted in Europe, Musings and Ramblings, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to BE STILL. (Back in Lourdes, France)

  1. Pingback: REUNITING WITH FRIENDS IN SPAIN, LOURDES & PORTUGAL | lifeisacelebration

Leave a Reply

