Travel Downtime: Is anyone listening?

It’s been hectic. It’s been tiring. All energy sapped. Need to recover from your holidays?

20120906-231714.jpg

Back to the old grind? For many, you get back to work. Reality sucks. C’est la vie. For retirees, it’s always good to use the downtime to reflect.

How beautiful it is to do nothing and then rest afterwards… ~ Spanish Proverb

Oh, ok. Traveling is NOT exactly that easy. You live off your suitcase. You sleep on different beds, always moving just when you’re growing used to last night’s bed. You do your full year quota of adventures and cram it into a couple of weeks or month. You miss your telenovelas. And you don’t know what’s for supper.

20120906-232927.jpg

You remember the good times. The highlights of your trips. You even remember what you missed or what you would have done differently. You long to review your photos again and again. And you long to chat with someone who dares to listen to your travel stories. (Please do it only with those who traveled with you. Or those who are genuinely interested in your adventures. If there’s no one listening, shut up. Or BLOG. Just saying.)

20120909-101629.jpg

Yes, BLOG. At least those who don’t wish to listen can UNSUBSCRIBE. (I hope I’m not giving you ideas.) But really, can you imagine how it is for those who aren’t interested at all on where you’ve been? You can post as many photos on your Facebook, if you like. Maybe a few of your FB friends will click LIKE. Very likely too, it would be the same FB friends who either traveled with you or have been to the same places you recently visited. See….. Everybody needs an audience. Don’t hate me for saying this. I’m guilty of all these. Just saying 😉😜😄

20120909-102440.jpg

You can read a book on the very same places you just visited too. Sort of like a review. That way, you can talk to yourself. Say “I should have done this while I was there”. Or “gee, I missed this”. On a happier note, “I saw/did this too!”. Or perhaps check all the stuff you bought, reprimanding yourself for not having bought MORE. Or you may head to a video rental store nearest you and stock up on movies that will allow you to “relive” the experience.

20120909-103053.jpg

I don’t know about you. But I’d confess to another “weird” thing I love doing after a trip. I enjoy retracing my trip on a map. Yes, you heard me. I just have to know which way I traveled on a map. Must be something I picked up from my parents. My father would always have a map to plan our roadtrips during summers. And my dear mother was such a good navigator, beating my father each time on which direction to take. Me? I have my Atlas book, all properly marked and highlighted on the roadtrips I took. Like I want to prep for my next visit with me behind the wheel. Crazy, noh? Then, I begin to jot down more travel itineraries. 🙂 We all have our eccentricities. Now, you know mine.

20120909-104317.jpg

20120909-104354.jpg

About lifeisacelebration

Retired early, but still active. Very involved in celebrating life! I love traveling because I always come back with less cobwebs in my mind. It is as if I empty my mind of all clutter upon departure, and fill it with many happy memories upon arrival. I also like the idea that life is so focused on the present, and my senses are all playing to listen, feel , see, smell and taste everything novel or not so new. The fact that I only have to choose from a limited wardrobe, or use the same pair of shoes throughout my holiday , or work and survive on a single budget make life so much simpler. Sure, you sometimes get a raw deal in a few trips, or feel hassled by flight delays and cancellations, but the joys and simplicity of the present far outweigh the negatives. Oh, btw, I always end up gaining more friends after each trip. Many I kept......
This entry was posted in Musings and Ramblings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

