I’m Retired. Quit Talking About Your Job!

I retired early for health reasons — my company was sick of me and I was sick of them.
— Author unknown

I quit my job at age 47. Way before my friends even considered early retirement. Believe it or not, I dreamed and planned my self-imposed retirement at age 45. You can say I went beyond target by a couple of years.

The extension had to do with some mortgages that needed to be paid. And a few other reasons. Those “extra” 2 years took care of guaranteeing a debt-free retirement. The idea was to do away with worries associated with debt repayment. More basic than that was to make sure I didn’t have to work again just to pay off the mortgage. You see, one can do with a lot less. But dealing with bank loans is a major concern that cannot be ignored nor set aside.

As a “young retiree”, I looked forward to dates with good old friends from school and from work. My dates with college friends were always fun. We knew each other too well, and laugh at the same jokes invariably repeated every chance we get together. My dates with friends from work was another matter. Because they were all still engrossed with their careers, I almost always found myself listening to them talk about their jobs and office politics. I know. It’s what we talked about before. Enjoyed them too. Then. But not anymore. Not after retirement.

Who cares if you met your budget? Who gives a hoot about targets? What do I care if the top honchos decided to promote others or hire from outside? Or whether you made a good presentation in the last committee meeting? When I grew tired listening to all these, I knew I have moved to another chapter in my life. Career over. That holds no interest to me anymore.

Welcome to my new world!

Before you speak, listen. Before you write, think. Before you spend, earn. Before you invest, investigate. Before you criticize, wait. Before you pray, forgive. Before you quit, try. Before you retire, save. Before you die, give.
William A. Ward

About lifeisacelebration

Retired early, but still active. Very involved in celebrating life! I love traveling because I always come back with less cobwebs in my mind. It is as if I empty my mind of all clutter upon departure, and fill it with many happy memories upon arrival. I also like the idea that life is so focused on the present, and my senses are all playing to listen, feel , see, smell and taste everything novel or not so new. The fact that I only have to choose from a limited wardrobe, or use the same pair of shoes throughout my holiday , or work and survive on a single budget make life so much simpler. Sure, you sometimes get a raw deal in a few trips, or feel hassled by flight delays and cancellations, but the joys and simplicity of the present far outweigh the negatives. Oh, btw, I always end up gaining more friends after each trip. Many I kept......
This entry was posted in Musings and Ramblings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m Retired. Quit Talking About Your Job!

  1. flipnomad says:

    i wanna be a young retiree too 🙂 looking forward to more helpful post from your new site Tita Lili 🙂

    • Thanks for dropping by. I do have much to share with the young (to prep for early retirement) and the not so young (to enjoy their retirement and not lose that sense of adventure). I can also learn from many who care to drop in and share their thoughts.

Leave a Reply

