Grab A Bag and Go!

My parents taught us well. The first skill we learned before school was how to pack light. My father would tell us only how many days we’d be out driving around (he then called it “Tour of Luzon”) and the major direction we are taking (like Northern Luzon, Bicol, or Southern Luzon). If we forgot our toothbrush, he’d let us sleep without brushing our teeth before he buys us one the next morning. And so, we learned.

An Old Family Picture. In Front Of Our Old House. Happy Memories!

My sense of adventure must have been honed those early years. Food, as with lodging accommodations, was an adventure by itself. Do we sleep on a proper bed? Do we eat foods we haven’t tried today? Are we going to the mountains or heading for the beach? I bet my father and mother planned out our weekends well, but there was always room (lots of room!) for spontaneity.

Day Trip With Sisters and Cousins

Such was my childhood years. Exciting. Full of adventure. Until I started working. My career tied me to a desk, pen in hand, a phone on my ear. That’s fine. Those were the years. And I planned early on to reclaim life. And celebrate it.

And With More Cousins!

There is a time to enjoy work. Along with the “validation” from family, friends and the rest of society. But remember to know when it’s enough. When it is time to stop. When it is time to spend time with one’s self, family and friends. Spending time with one’s self? Yes, it is just as important. It’s grace to find enjoyment in solitude, just as it is a gift to spend time with family and friends.

Grab A Bag and Go. Just GO!

So there, grab a bag and go! Have a life.

About lifeisacelebration

Retired early, but still active. Very involved in celebrating life! I love traveling because I always come back with less cobwebs in my mind. It is as if I empty my mind of all clutter upon departure, and fill it with many happy memories upon arrival. I also like the idea that life is so focused on the present, and my senses are all playing to listen, feel , see, smell and taste everything novel or not so new. The fact that I only have to choose from a limited wardrobe, or use the same pair of shoes throughout my holiday , or work and survive on a single budget make life so much simpler. Sure, you sometimes get a raw deal in a few trips, or feel hassled by flight delays and cancellations, but the joys and simplicity of the present far outweigh the negatives. Oh, btw, I always end up gaining more friends after each trip. Many I kept......
This entry was posted in Musings and Ramblings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

